Maclellanara Black Mountain (Blaki)

IMG_0020I received a Maclellanara Black Mountain (Blaki) orchid today that I purchased on eBay from vendor orchidsbyeli2014.  I was a little disappointed at first because of the condition of the bulbs, which indicated that the plant was very dry, and will have little energy to grow initially.  I decided to repot it into S/H right away, and take my chances.  It has two good new growths off the back side, and I think it will do OK.  No blooms until next year, at the earliest.

According to Wikipedia, Maclellanara, abbreviated Mclna. in the horticultural trade,[1] is the nothogenus comprising intergeneric hybrids between the orchid genera Brassia, Odontoglossum and Oncidium.  I will have to watch this one, as my previous Brassia (which is r.i.p as of today) just didn’t have the energy to bloom and grow new roots in S/H.  At least this one is not blooming, and it did have some good roots (although the plant was root bound.)

The picture of the blooms is what attracted me to the plant — but I need to make sure that the eBay vendor shows a picture of the actual plant.  That was not the case here, and I may have received a weak plant.

Screen Shot 2015-07-20 at 5.27.45 PM

Maclellanara Black Mountain (Blaki)

This entry was posted in Orchids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

