Orchids by Housermann

 Visited Orchids by Hausermann on Thursday of this week in Chicago.  I was bored at the IEEE Visualization Conference and decided to find this orchid house.  It took a walk (in the cold Chicago wind) to the Chicago transit center, a 35 minute train ride, and another 20+ minute walk to get there.
It is a large orchid house, producing a huge number of Phalaenopsis and large Cattleya plants, but had many other varieties.  I spent about three hours looking around, and purchased two orchids: a Angrecum Leonis and an Oncidium Shary Baby. I was looking for an Oncidium sweet sugar, but found mealy bugs in their plants.  I am happy with the plants I purchased.

Then a long walk, train ride, and walk back. I put the plants in my backpack for the trip back, and they survived well.

This entry was posted in Acquiring Orchids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

