What’s Happening in the Orchid Room?

Several new things are happening in the orchid room this week.  Spring is now almost upon us in central California, with March rains this week, but the sun coming quickly.

CatasetumPenang031016.JPGCatasetum Penang has a new growth coming.  This is my first Catasetum-type orchid to come out of its winter’s rest.  I purchased it on August 20, 2015 from Fred Clarke at SVO Orchids.  It was planted in spaghnum moss in a four inch plastic pot, and I did not replant it into S/H, but left it in the spaghnum moss for the winter.  During the winter (November 1 to March 5) it received only periodic clear water — perhaps only once every three weeks.

Yesterday, I repotted it into S/H.  The root system was very healthy, with new growth coming.


 

Sarc031016.JPGSarcochilus Picotee (elb) (‘Spring Snow’ x ‘Starlet’) has started developing new roots, and they look very healthy.  I found this plant in the Ondontoglossom greenhouse of the Orchid Zone on October 7, 2015.  It was in bloom when I brought it home, and the blooms lasted for about a week.

 

 

 


 

epidendrun031016.JPGI purchased this red Epidendrum from eBay (ventor: nia22d — Nia’s Orchids) and received it on March 28, 2015.  It had a small spike that did not survive the shipping, and I potted it into S/H right away.  It has been sitting in the west-facing window since I received it, and has been growing very slowly, if at all.  When I repotted it this January (my over-fertilization problem), the roots showed some growth, but minimal.  I placed it on my top shelf, facing south near the skylights, and it is showing a lot of new growth.  There are a lot of root-like structures growing on the stem.  I don’t really know what this means, but it is showing much more life.

Light may be the primary problem now.  If it doesn’t do well here, I need to transfer it to the solarium.


 

Victoria031016.JPGMy Dendrobium Victoria-Reginae has new growth, and two buds that should bloom in the next two weeks.  I purchased this orchid from Napa Valley Orchids at Orchids in the Park in San Francisco on July 25, 2015.  This orchid has had a difficult time since.  It was full of bugs, and was immediately transferred to the bathroom shower (isolation room).  The bugs however persisted, and the plant stayed in the shower room until December, when it appeared to be free of them.  I repotted the plant in my January repotting (because of over-fertilization problems), and placed it in my east facing window with the other Dendrobiums.  It showed no growth, but remained green on the canes.  I gave the plant full fertilizer throughout the winter, as these dendrobiums do not need a winter’s rest.

About two weeks ago, one of the canes showed two new buds on the tip of the cane, and these turned out to be flower buds.  Yesterday, I noticed a new growth in the crotch between a branching of two of the canes.

So it is alive!

 


PrincessUnicum031016.JPGMy Dendrobium Princess x Unicum is spiking like crazy.  I purchased this orchid on my visit to SLO Garden Orchids on September 13, 2015, and planted it into S/H right away.  It took some time to adapt to S/H, dropping several leaves, and aborting some new growths, but finally is now spiking.   It should have over 50 flowers when it is done.

 

 

 


 

Little things:

  • I discovered a diseased leaf on my new Psychopsis Mendenhall ‘Hildos’.  I purchased this orchid from a Taiwanese vendor at the Pacific Orchid Exposition in San Francisco on Saturday February 27,2016.  I immediately cut off the diseased leaf, and treated the orchid with Biosafe Disease Control.  Two days later, I noticed that the associated pseudobulb also was diseased.  I cut off the pseudobulb, treated with cinnamon, placed the orchid in quarantine (the shower), and laster poured a solution of Biosafe Disease Control through the pot.  We’ll see what happens.  It does have a new leaf coming.
  • My older Psychopsis Mendenhall was ‘retired’ from the collection.  I had inadvertently cut off the spikes of this plant, and recently discovered that there was mold all around the pseudobulbs.  I decided to retire this plant, and work with my new Psychopsis.
  • My Paphiopetalum Nike’s Delight ‘#2’ x Paphiopetalum Pinocchio ‘Pink’ is about to bloom again.  I purchased this orchid from Gold Country Orchids on Thursday January 14, 2016.  It is a sequential bloomer, and held its bud for a long time, and it is now slowly opening.
This entry was posted in Orchids, What's Happening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

