What’s Happening?

Papilio080516.JPGMy Psychopsis Papilio var alba is in bloom again.  It initially had one bloom, which finally dropped, but the lower spike then went into bloom.  The upper spike has bloomed again this week, and now I have two flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 


MaryEllen080516.JPGMy Lc. Mary Ellen Carter ‘Dixie Hummingbird’ has been moved to S/H.  It arrived in a 2″ pot, and I let it adapt to its environment for a month or so.  I purchased this plant from EBay vendor “lalaorchids” and it arrived on July 4th.

Here is a picture of it’s potential bloom.

DixiePic.png

 

 


WineDelight080516.JPGCycnoches Wine Delight was growing in the solarium, and was tipped over by the wind.  It was planted in S/H, and did not want to go back in that pot.  It did not have good root growth, and was clearly drawing a lot of nutrients from the pseudobulbs.  I decided to repot it into sphagnum moss and go into rescue mode.  It is now sitting on the top shelf of the south window in the orchid room.

 

 

 

 


Masdevallia080516.JPGI have repotted my Masdevallia Southern Sun ‘Lehua Tangerine Dream’ into sphagnum moss in an effort to save the plant.  I have had this plant for over a year (acquired May 31, 2015).  It was planted into S/H, and did not do well.  It did grow a couple of new leaves, but more than twice as many had died.  This plant did have some new root growth, so there is hope.  It is now sitting on the top southern shelf of the orchid room.

 

 

 

 


Monarch080516.JPGI have repotted my Masdevallia Highland Monarch ‘Golden Sun’ AQ/AOS into spaghnum moss in an effort to save the plant.  I had this plant potted in S/H, and it did not do well.  When repotting, I noticed that it effectively had no roots outside of its “clump”.  It is now sitting on the top southern shelf of the orchid room.

 

 

 

 

 


Promenaea080516.JPGMy Promenaea Limelight is now out of bloom, but has a new growth (barely visible in the baclk of the plant.  I will wait a while longer, and then plant this in a 4″ net pot.  In talking with Andy, ofAndy’s Orchids at Orchids in the Park in San Francisco, he stated that it could grow to surround the net pot completely.  This sounds very appealing to me.

 

 

 

 

 


cirrhopetalum080516.JPGMy Cirrhopetalum Makoyanum was a gift from Rudy at SLO Garden Orchids.  I planted it into S/H, where it bloomed a couple of times, but then started doing poorly.  It had not grown a new bulb this year, and I thought it needed a new environment.  So I repotted it into sphagnum moss, and it now sits on the southwest corner of the orchid room on the top shelf.

 

 

 

 


Bulbophyllum080516.JPGI received this Bulbophyllum Frank Smith ‘Vera Cruz’ HCC/AOS from the raffle table at the Sacramento Orchid Society meeting on Wednesday, February 3rd. I planted it into S/H right away, and it continued growing its third bulb, but stopped there.  I thought it needed a new environment, so I repotted it into sphagnum moss, and put it back on the upper west shelf of the orchid room.

When repotting, I noticed that it is getting a fourth bulb.

 

 

 


BSunkissed080516.JPGMy Burrageara Sunkissed ‘Butter Cup seems to be growing nicely.  It had two spikes when I got it in late March, the buds bloomed, and I planted it into S/H after blooming had stopped.  It now has three new growths (of which I think two are serious — one comes from the original small bulb).

 

 

 

 

 


SnowWhite080516.JPGI acquired this Odontoglossom Coupe Point ‘Snow White’ during my visit to Bob Hamilton’s greenhouses on May 14th.  It is good orchid, planted in small bark.  It is an Odm. so I will have to keep it cool, and will place it in the solarium, near the swamp cooler outlet.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Rememberance080516.JPGI acquired this Odontioda Tan ‘Remembrance’ during my visit to Bob Hamilton’s greenhouses on May 14th.  It is planted in medium bark, and has been on the southern low shelf in the orchid room since it has arrived.

This entry was posted in What's Happening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

