What’s Happening?

IMG_3615.JPGLycaste Shoalhaven sib (Shoalhaven ‘Alba Round’ x Shoalhaven ‘Albion’) is in bloom again, with a single bloom.  I purchased this orchid from the Orchid Zone (Z6417) on my visit to their greenhouses on May 16th.  The plant has grown very large leaves, nearly two fee high, and I repotted it — shifting it in the pot so the new growth had room — about a month ago.  This little flower was somewhat of a surprise.

 

 

 

 


IMG_3617.JPGMy Odontioda (Oda. (Aviewood x Durham City) x Odm. Jim Mintsiveris ‘Spotter’) is now fully in bloom.  I purchased this plant from the Tiny Jungle at Orchids in the Park in San Francisco on July 23rd.  The initial bloom, which I have shown in this blog before, has now faded.

Beautiful plant.

 

 

 

 

 


Artist082416.JPGMy Dendrobium Aussie Artist, which is a cross between Den. Cobber ‘Violet Gold’ and Den. speciosum v. curvicaule ‘Daylight Moon’ FCC/AOC, is growing slowly.  I have two of these, and transferred them to the solarium about two months ago.  They have each grown a new bulb, but don’t seem to be that fast growing.  They both suffer from the small port S/H problem, and I may repot one of them in bark to see how they grow.

The new growth has what seems to be an aborted sheath.  Since I have not seen one of these bloom, I am not sure what this means for the plant.


Wilsonara082416.JPGMy Wilsonara Michoacan ‘Mariposa’, that I purchased from Tom Perlite at Golden Gate Orchids on April 27, 2015, has been transferred to the solarium, and seems to be growing well.  It has developed a new pseudobulb, growing to the left in the picture, and seems to be quite healthy.

 

 

 

 

 


Tisku082416.JPGMy Oncidium Tsiku Marguerite ‘#2’, that  I purchased from Al’s Orchid Greenhouse in Virginia, finally has a spike.  I place this plant on the center table of the orchid room for over a year, and it had only some weak growth.  Since I have place it in the solarium, it now drinks the reservoir empty at each watering, and seems much healthier.

I noticed a new spike (growing to the left in the picture) a few days ago.

This plant also suffers from the small-pot S/H problems of too many salt deposits on the plants.  I will repot this into a larger S/H pot after it finished blooming.

 


MarkKoch082416.JPGMy Potinara Mark Koch ‘Sutter Butte’, that I purchased at the Gold Country Orchids open house in April of 2016, is developing buds.  This plant had four new growths, and I watched three of them develop dry small sheaths, with no buds.  However, the fourth new pseudobulb seems to be developing buds now.

 

 

 

 

 


 

This entry was posted in What's Happening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

