Dendrobium Aussie Artist is in bloom

AussieArtist020217.JPGMy Dendrobium Aussie Artist, which is a cross between Den. Cobber ‘Violet Gold’ and Den. speciosum v. curvicaule ‘Daylight Moon’ FCC/AOC, is in bloom.  I recevied this plant from Sunset Valley Orchids (I purchased one, and the sent me two).  They sat on the lower shelf of the orchid room for a year, and only one of the plants had any new growth.  When I finished the solarium, I moved them there, placing them on the south side of the center table.

This fall, I moved one of these (the one pictured) to the upper shelf of the solarium, where it would get more light.  I generally forgot about it, just watering it on my winter schedule.  About two weeks ago, I noticed that it was about to bloom, and had also grown a new pseudobulb.  The blooms opened about 10 days ago.  Initially quite greenish-yellow, but turning yellow with purple markings as they get older.

The second plant is still on the center table, and has developed a new pseudobulb.

This entry was posted in Blooming, Orchids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

