Lc. Gold Digger ‘O Glades Mandarin’ is in bloom — finally!

GoldDigger020217.JPGLc. Gold Digger ‘O Glades Mandarin’ is in bloom.  I got this plant from eBay through vendor orchidtn.  It was listed as “overgrown” when I purchased it, and it was!  I purchased it for the purpose of doing my first division, and separated it into two plants, about 1/3 in one, and 2/3 of the original in the second.

The second plant is the one shown in the picture.  I potted it into S/H, and it suffered more than any plant I have had.  It got overturned (pellets all over the floor) four times, and grew pitifully.  For over a year, it was on the lower south shelf of the orchid room, near the seedlings, and it just didn’t do well.  Upon completing the solarium, I moved it to the upper shelf of the solarium, and it started two new pseudobulbs and went into “sheath” almost immediately.

It is now blooming.

I feel great about this plant.  It is one of my initial purchases, and suffered under my care for quite a while.  It is now a solid plant, and I expect It will be blooming again next year.  I don’t plant to move it from its currently location.

The first plant is on the upper shelf of the orchid room, and currently in bud.  It will be blooming soon.

This entry was posted in Blooming, Orchids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

